...never judge a book by its movie

Monday, March 26, 2012

Monday Memes - In My Mailbox, Mailbox Monday, It's Monday - What are YOU Reading? - March 26, 2012


"Mailbox Monday" is the brainchild of Marcia at The Printed Page.  Martha has closed The Printed Page effective December 18th and set up Mailbox Monday on it's own blog here:  http://mailboxmonday.wordpress.com/

March's host is Anna at Diary of an Eccentric!   Hop on over, link up, and join the fun!

"In My Mailbox" is hosted by The Story Siren

Every week we'll post about what books we have that week (via your mailbox/library/store bought)! Everyone that agrees to participate will try to visit each other's list and leave comments!  Everyone is welcome to join! You can join at anytime and you DO NOT have to participate every week.

I guarantee that you will add to your reading list by visiting the participating blogs in both of these memes!

The Dressmaker of Khair Khana by  For review through TLC Book Tours -  (The Book Depository / Amazon) - this is one that I've wanted since it came out in hardcover last year, so I was happy to receive it for review on its release in paperback.

Goodreads description:

For fans of "Three Cups of Tea, The Dressmaker of Khair Khana," written by a former reporter for ABC News, tells the story of a fearless young entrepreneur who brought hope to the lives of dozens of women in war-torn Afghanistan.

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey - Won from New York Journal of Books -  (The Book Depository / Amazon) - Another that was on my to-buy list!

Goodreads description:

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning the snow child is gone--but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees. This little girl, who calls herself Faina, seems to be a child of the woods. She hunts with a red fox at her side, skims lightly across the snow, and somehow survives alone in the Alaskan wilderness. As Jack and Mabel struggle to understand this child who could have stepped from the pages of a fairy tale, they come to love her as their own daughter. But in this beautiful, violent place things are rarely as they appear, and what they eventually learn about Faina will transform all of them.




What Are You Reading?

"What Are You Reading?" is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.  Click over to see what other readers are into this week and add to your TBR pile!

The past two weeks have been super busy, with not a lot of reading and/or blogging being done, but I have determined to use this week to catch up and maybe even get a bit ahead!

READ:

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
 Review Upcoming
The Whipping Club by Deborah Henry
Review Upcoming
The Wild Rose by Jennifer Donnelly 
Review Upcoming
All Different Kinds of Free by Jessica McCann
Book Depository
 Amazon
  Review Upcoming
Shadows Walking by Douglas R. Skopp
Book Depository
 Amazon
Review Upcoming 
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon
Book Depository
 Amazon
  


REVIEWED:  (click the cover to go to the review):

Carry the One by Carol Anshaw
3.4 of 5 stars




CURRENTLY READING:
(Click on the cover for the Goodreads page)

The China Gambit by Allan Topol
Hard copy
The Year's Best Dark Fantasy and Horror 2011 edited by Paula Guran
Nook
Dracula by Bram Stoker
Hard copy
The Mystery of Edwin Drood by Charles Dickens
Kindle


Next to be read on the personal pile (click cover for Goodreads page):

Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zukoff
Freeze Tag by Caroline B. Cooney A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess



Next to be read on the hard copy review pile (click cover for Goodreads page):

The Ocean and the Hourglass by Dan O'Brien
The Dressmaker of Khair Khana by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon Bitten by Dan O'Brien


FAVE OF THE (TWO) WEEKS:


The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

A bit gothic, with two different, yet equally compelling, stories and timelines.  Definitely a must-read!

How was YOUR reading week?  Please leave a link to YOUR "What Are You Reading/In My Mailbox/Mailbox Monday" post(s) in the comments (I'd love to come visit) or simply comment with what your reading week was like!

Julie



12 comments:

  1. Wow!! A lot of great reads here! I took a look at The Snow Child when I was in Barnes and Noble the other day and am definitely curious!

    Great blog ya got here!

    xo, La Toya (La Toya, Literally.)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved The Thirteenth Tale too. Going to check out the Cooney book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Carry the One is up next for me. I will have to see if we agree about it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I can't wait to read The Dressmaker of Khair Khana. I loved Three Cups of Tea and Little Princes.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Greta line up this week! I am hoping to make a dent too :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I liked The Dressmaker of Khair Khanna so I hope you do too!

    ReplyDelete
  7. You are a busy girl! Did you enjoy The Winter Rose? I love Jennifer Donnely's books!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Both books you received sound good, enjoy!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I will have to dig my copy of The Thirteenth Tale out after reading your recommendation for it. The Snow Child has gotten many great reviews. I think that is one for my wish list! Have a great reading week!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I loved The Thirteenth Tale.

    I would like to see more from this author.

    My reading is all over the place at the moment with real life being completely chaotic.

    Happy reading
    carol

    ReplyDelete
  11. You've done well! :) The Thirteenth Tale is one of my all-time fave books. I absolutely loved it. The Curious Incident... was very good too.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm glad you got a head, I'm very behind


    Sorry I am a bit late stopping by this week, I've been swamped! I hope you have been enjoying your books!

    Shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel all squishy happy inside, so drop a line if you see or read something interesting! PLEASE don't leave links to your blog or page unless the post you're replying to specifically asks you to leave a link!
Sorry that I had to re-enable word verification, but without it, there was far too much spam coming in - the only other option would have been to require only registered (Google, OpenID, etc.) comments, which might require you, the commenter, to go through even MORE steps just to comment!

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Drop down nav

© 2011 Knitting and Sundries, AllRightsReserved.

Designed by ScreenWritersArena